Sunday, August 31, 2008
Tuesday, August 26, 2008
Play a custom sound when Outlook delivers new e-mail
Labels: Microsoft Outlook Support, Online Outlook Support, Outlook Email Support, Outlook Support
Hi, I am continuing my work with some information about Microsoft Outlook 2000. It provided Outlook Support for customize the sound when send the new mail using outlook. It applies with Outlook 2000. You can have Microsoft Outlook® 2000 play a custom sound when new messages are received in your Inbox. First, you must turn on sound notification for new messages. If you already have sound notification turned on, go directly to the second procedure to customize the sound played.
Set Outlook to play a sound when new e-mail is delivered
- On the Tools menu, click Options.
- Click E-mail Options.
- Click Advanced E-mail Options, and then under When new items arrive, select the Play a sound check box.
Change the sound played
- On the Windows® taskbar, click Start, point to Settings, and then click Control Panel.
- Double-click the Sounds icon.
- In the Events list, click New mail notification.
- In the Name list, click the sound that you want to hear when you receive new e-mail, or click Browse to see more choices.
Thursday, August 7, 2008
View your Web-based e-mail account from within Outlook
Labels: MIcrosoft Outlook Help, Online Outlook Support, Outlook Support
First, create a folder, giving it the name of the Web based e-mail service. Then assign the e-mail service's Web site to be the home page of that folder. You can then view the Web page in the folder to read and reply to messages. Note that while this works for any Web-based e-mail account, the procedure below uses Hotmail as an example. To view a different Web-based e-mail account, in step 3 of the first procedure, type the name of the e-mail service, and in step 2 of the second procedure, type its URL.
Create a Web-based e-mail folder
1. On the File menu, point to New, and then click Folder.
2. In the Name box, type Hotmail.
3. In the Folder contains box, click Mail items.
4. In the Select where to place the folder list, click the location for the folder
Assign the Web site as the home page of the folder
If the Folder List isn't visible, on the View menu, click Folder List.
1. In the Folder List, right-click the Hotmail folder, and then click Properties on the shortcut menu.
2. On the Home Page tab, in the Address box, type http://www.hotmail.com.
3. Select the Show home page by default for this folder check box, and then click OK.
Now when you click the Hotmail folder in your Folder List you'll see the logon screen for Hotmail.
Tip You can add a shortcut to the Web-based e-mail account folder on the Outlook Bar by right-clicking the folder and then clicking Add to Outlook Bar on the shortcut menu.
Caution If you're reading Web-based e-mail and switch to another Outlook folder, when you return to the folder for the Web-based e-mail account, you'll need to log on to the service again.
Friday, August 1, 2008
Turn an Outlook item into another type of item
Labels: MIcrosoft Outlook Help, Online Outlook Support, Outlook Email Support, Outlook Support
Has this happened to you? You've had a lengthy e-mail conversation and now you realize a face-to-face meeting is necessary. Instead of creating a new meeting request and then copying and pasting text from the e-mail message, you can use the Outlook AutoCreate feature to quickly create a meeting request and capture all the information in your e-mail thread. And best of all, AutoCreate lets you convert any item into an item of another type, such as a contact into a task or a note into an appointment.
Turn an Outlook item into another type of item
1. Drag the message onto the Calendar icon on the Outlook Bar.
2. Enter the location for the meeting, and then make any changes and select any additional options you want on the Appointment tab. (Relevant information from the message has already been added to fields in the new meeting request. The entire message appears in the meeting text box.)
3. On the Actions menu, click Invite Attendees.
4. Enter a name or names in the to box.
5. Click Send.
That's it. You've turned an e-mail message into a meeting. Now that you know how easy it is to use AutoCreate, see what other kinds of items you can create from existing items.
Note If you prefer menu commands, you can select the item and then click Copy to Folder on the Edit menu to create a new item.
Friday, July 25, 2008
Read and send messages in other languages with Outlook
Labels: Microsoft Outlook Support, Online Outlook Support, Outlook Email Support
When you receive a message in a different language, the message must be marked with information about the character set (alphabet) that was used to create it in order for Outlook 2000 to be able to display the message. When you forward or reply to the message, Outlook keeps the character set of the original message. Including character set information with a message is called encoding.
Occasionally, you may receive messages that aren't encoded. For these messages, Outlook uses the default encoding for unmarked messages that's specified for your computer. This default is set automatically based on the Regional Settings (system local settings) of your operating system. The default setting appears in the International Options dialog box. (On the Tools menu, click Options, click the Mail Format tab, and then click International Options.)
The default encoding might not work for some of the international messages that you receive. For example, if your default is Western European and you receive an unmarked message that uses a Greek character set, the message might display boxes or question marks instead of readable text. To fix this problem, you need to change the encoding of that specific message to Greek so Outlook can display the correct characters and provide Outlook Support to read and send the email massage.
Changing the encoding of a message
By default, there are a number of languages already enabled when you install Microsoft Office 2000. As a result, the character sets for these languages are listed in Outlook so you can change the encoding of any unmarked message to the character set used to create the message.
Change the encoding of a received message
- Open the message.
- On the View menu, point to Encoding, and then click the character set (alphabet) you want to use.
- Click Yes.
Encoding doesn't only apply to messages that you receive. It also applies to messages you send. Outlook automatically uses the default encoding for outgoing messages (also specified in the International Options dialog box mentioned above); however, you can specify a different encoding for a specific message.
Enable a language
- On the Windows taskbar, click the Start button, point to Programs, point to Microsoft Office Tools, and then click Microsoft Office Language Settings.
- Click the language you want to enable.
Monday, July 21, 2008
Microsoft Outlook 2000 Web Feature
Labels: MIcrosoft Outlook Help, Outlook Email Support, Outlook Support
Microsoft Outlook 2000 provides the following ways to manage information from the Internet or your intranet. It provides best Outlook Support to Handle Email services on outlook. Users can use the Contacts folder to do the following:
• Keep track of contacts’ Web sites.
• Open the Web history folder from within Outlook 2000.
• Share a catalog of Web sites in a public folder.
Browse Web pages in Outlook
In Outlook 2000, you can select a Web page from the Favorites menu or use the Web toolbar to enter a URL and display a Web page in Outlook. Or you can send the Web page that you are currently viewing in Outlook as the body of an e-mail message by clicking Send Web Page by E-Mail on the Actions menu
System Policy Tip If you do not want your users browsing the Web from Outlook 2000, you can disable commands on the Web toolbar by using a system policy. In the System Policy Editor, disable the commands in the Microsoft Outlook 2000\ Disable items in user interface\Predefined category that you do not want available to your users. For more information, see Using the System Policy Editor.
Create home pages for folders
Because you can view Web pages in Outlook 2000, it is easy to create a home page for a public folder. A folder home page can be used to provide the following:
• Information about the purpose and use of a public folder.
• A primary or secondary customizable view of the folder contents.
To add a folder home page in Outlook 2000
1. In the Outlook Folder list, right-click the folder, and then click Properties.
2. In the Properties dialog box, click the Home Page tab.
3. Select all the options that you want to set up the home page.
System Policy Tip You can specify folder home pages for your users by setting a system policy. You can also disable folder home pages through a system policy. In the System Policy Editor, set the policies in the Microsoft Outlook 2000\Miscellaneous\Folder Home Pages for Outlook special folders category to specify folder home pages options for your users. For more information, see Using the System Policy Editor.
Thursday, July 10, 2008
How to Set Outlook as your default e-mail program
Your default e-mail program is the program that starts when you choose to read mail or send a message from Microsoft Internet Explorer, or when you choose to send a message from a Microsoft Office or other e-mail enabled program (one that's not an e-mail program, but that you can send mail from). In Internet Explorer version 5, Microsoft Outlook Express is automatically set as the default e-mail program for the browser, Microsoft Office, and other e-mail enabled programs. How you change the default e-mail program to Outlook 2000 depends on whether you've run Outlook since setting it up on your computer. Follow the steps for Outlook Support to set outlook as default email program that are given below…….
Set Outlook as the default e-mail program
Use the procedure that applies to your situation:
I have not run Outlook 2000 since setting it up on my computer.
- Start Outlook 2000 and wait for it to complete its setup tasks (also called "first run tasks").
- When you see the message
"Outlook is not currently your default manager for Mail, News and contacts. Would you like to register Outlook as the default manager?"
Click Yes.
You must quit and restart any open Office programs to have them recognize Outlook as the new default e-mail program. You might also need to quit and restart any other open, e-mail enabled programs.